NaNoWriMo

Oh NaNoWriMo where have you been all my life???

For anyone else out there like me, and I can’t be the only one that has never heard of this before NaNoWriMo is National Novel Writers Month.  Every November people sit down and try to write a (minimum length) 50,000 word novel in just 30 days.

This is by far the most amazing thing I’ve heard of in quite some time, and to fully showcase my dorkiness I signed up right away, becoming just one of the over one hundred thousand others who have decided to take on this daunting challenge.

I’ve always been a fan of books, but I’ve never imagined trying to write one myself…I don’t even have the slightest idea what it will be about, and I spent most of last night trying to figure that part out.

What I did figure out, as I tossed and turned in my bed last night, is that I want the story to include a strong female character, but not in the way they’ve been portrayed in the past.  I do not want my heroine to be one of those ultra feminesto types; one of those utterly independent women that would never dare to accept help from a man under any circumstances, and that looks down upon women that would allow themselves to perform roles “traditionally” filled by women.  I also don’t want her to be that very unrealistic “expert at everything” type of woman…I’m sure you’ve all read one of those stories where the female protagonist is accompanied by the brightest scientists, and the most highly trained special-ops commandos, and yet she still has to give them all the answers and constantly save their lives because she is woman hear her roar.

No, instead I want her to be someone who women can relate too, and possibly even be inspired by; a woman who is very capable of getting things done, but can also accept she needs help from a man without feelings of animosity; a woman who can embrace her feminine side, her beauty, and her sexuality; a woman who does not shy away from the traditional role as “care giver”, and is right there to whisper an uplifting word in her lover’s ear when she knows he feels like he is about to break; someone who can kick a little butt, but also nurture it too; someone who is flawed, but perseveres none the less.

Now I just have to come up with a vibrant world for her to live in; a central conflict for her to overcome; an antagonist to plague her journey; and a dozen or so other well fleshed out characters for her to interact with and this will be a piece of cake….what have gotten myself into this time.

Well do not fear because I plan to use this blog to keep any and all that are interested up to date as I triumphantly march, or haplessly stumble thru this experience.

And just for a point of reference; this blog post is a little over 500 hundred words…so if this were only a hundred times longer it could be my first novel.

 

One response to “NaNoWriMo

Leave a Reply

